NOVA'S 2019 Board of Directors & Staff Awardees

Join us at NOVA's NCVRW Cocktail Reception to honor these extraordinary individuals and programs.

meet the 2019 board of director awardees

Bobbi Sudberry -Kaity's Way, Phoenix, AZ

Edith Surgan victim activist award

“I am inspired daily by my daughter, Kaity, her brothers and sisters as well as their children. Beyond them, are all the wonderful people I have come to know since being sent on this journey to end teen dating violence and promote healthy relationships. Every time I encounter anyone of these people I am reminded of all that has been done and still needs to be done. It is their sincerity and encouragement that keeps me motivated to continue to inspire others through Kaity’s Way, to reach inside and make better choices and exercise P.E.A.C.E (Patience, Empathy, Acceptance, Caring, Equality)”

andy kahan -Houston, TX

Marlene Young Leadership award

“Crime victims are the only unwilling participants in the criminal justice system”, it’s the least we can do to ensure their rights and well-being are looked after. My mantra has always been, anyone can yell and scream about the injustices of the world: I would much rather prefer to find a solution and or a remedy. I can’t go back and change what happened to you and or your family, but we can try to make a difference and achieve a lifelong legacy”

Sheriff's Office -Victim Services Unit of Harford County MD

tadini bacigalupi Outstanding Program award

“I am inspired by the people I work with, the victims.  They are in the most traumatic time of their lives and desperately need someone to be there for them to guide them through  a most difficult process.  The courage and tenacity they show inspire me to continue to do this work every day.” -Debbie Bradley

“Trauma is defined as a deeply distressing or disturbing experience. This looks different for each person but nonetheless is something no one should have to face by themselves. This inspires me to come to work every day so our victims know they are not alone.” -Kara Dager

sheriff's office -Senior Advocacy Unit of collier county FL

tadini bacigalupi outstanding program awarD

“The inspiration for each of us is different but the goal is the same…. Our unit’s mission is, “To reduce the trauma of victimization through advocacy and guide victims through the criminal justice process toward long-term support and recovery.”

SAYAMA TURNER - Director Student Development Programs, Houston, TX

Outstanding military Sexual Assault victim advocate award

“Being an advocate is one of greatest calls a person can walk in with both passion and compassion for those who need assistance during the most difficult times of their lives without the fear of being rejected, ignored, or further harmed. As an advocate, I am inspired to continue to work for others and provide assistance because of seeing how “one person” can create a change for those around them due to having an advocate in their lives who provided them with the necessary support, empowerment, guidance, and encouragement during their time of need.”

Aurora, CO Police Department Division Chief Vanessa wilson

morton bard allied professional award

“I believe that so many of us chose police work and victim advocacy because we want to “do the right thing” and right the wrongs that so many people fall victim to. I have personally witnessed the strength and resiliency that victims of crime have shown and that ability to be resilient starts with the way in which LE approaches them in those first moments.  I am blessed to work with an amazing team of victim advocates that I learn from every day.  As LE executives, we need to be cognizant and ensure that those advocates that witness trauma, day in and day out, are cared for and their vicarious trauma is addressed with psychological support services and peer support programs.”

angela olson - Lansing, MI

margery fry outstanding advocate award

“I am both astonished and inspired constantly by the resiliency of victims. They are at one of the most traumatic points in their lives. They continue to stand up, speak up and be strong no matter what is done to them. It is an extreme honor to stand beside them in whatever part of their journey you are privileged enough to support them through.”

2019 Board of Directors Award Nominations ~Honorees

Edith Surgan Victim Activist Award:

Kelsey Christensen, Survivor/Advocate, MD

Maude Gorman, Hingham, MA

Nancy Oglesby, Justice 3D, Henrico, VA

Margery Fry Outstanding Advocate Award:

Shelley Battles-Reichle, Family Crisis Center, Inc., Ada, OK

Barbara Elliott Harvard, Prince George’s County Office of the Sheriff, Upper Marlboro, MD

Amber D. Gray, Gray’s Trauma-Informed Care Services, Lake Elsinore, CA

Zina Jiad, State Attorney’s Office for the 4th Judicial Circuit of Florida, Jacksonville, FL

Michelle Myers, Hall County Solicitor’s Office, Gainesville, GA

Denise Pearson-Jordan, Tulare County District Attorney, Porterville, CA

Kathleen Rednour-Esser, Loraine County Prosecutor’s Office, Elyria, OH

Delaine Smith-Clark, Prince George’s Hospital- DV & SA Center, Cheverly, MD

Jennifer Storm, Office of the Advocate, Camp Hill, PA

June Vining, Trauma Intervention Program of Portland/Vancouver, Portland, OR

Marlene Young Leadership Award:

Debi Cain, State of Michigan Division of Victim Services, Lansing, MI

Dr. Gena Castro Rodriguez, PhD, San Francisco DA, Victim Services Division, San Francisco, CA

Doreen Nicholas, Arizona Coalition to End Sexual & Domestic Violence, Phoenix, AZ

Mary Onama, Victim Services Center, Norristown, PA

Stephanie Satkowiak, North Carolina Administrative Office of the Courts, Raleigh, NC

Morton Bard Allied Professional Award:

Debb Anderton, Executive Director, Durham Region Police Victim Services-Vulnerable Persons, Unit, Whitby, Ontario, Canada

Timothy Dowd, Investigator, Allen Police Department, Allen, TX

Captain Saul Rappeport, Air Force Chaplain, United States Air Force, San Antonio, TX

Tadini Bacigalupi Jr. Outstanding Program Award:

Agency Support Team, AZ Attorney General’s Office of Victim Services, Phoenix, AZ

Chattahoochee Judicial Circuit Victim-Witness Assistance Program, Columbus, GA

Contra Costa County District Attorney’s Office Victim Witness, Martinez, CA

Crime Stoppers of Houston, Houston, TX

Estes Valley Crisis Advocate Team, Larimer County, Estes Park, CO

Indianapolis Police Department Victim Assistance Unit, Indianapolis, IN

Miami-Dade Police Department- Victim Advocate Program, Miami, FL

P.S. You’re My Hero, Port Huron, MI

Safe Embrace Domestic Violence Program of Washoe County, Sparks, NV

SilenceIsViolence-Victim Allies Project, New Orleans, LA

Victim Services Unit JDRDC, Fairfax County, Fairfax, VA

Victims Visitors’ Day, Georgia Office of Victim Services, Atlanta, GA

Victim-Witness Assistance Program, Office of the DeKalb County District Attorney, Decatur, GA

Exceptional Military Victim Advocate Award:

Elyse Hamill, SAPR, Fleet and Family Support Center, New Orleans, LA

Jessica Burbach, NOSC, U.S. Navy, Minneapolis, MN

Addison Reynolds, SAPR, 176 Wing Alaska Air National Guard, Alaska

Dawn Holmes, AETC, Air Force, Monterey, CA

Socorro Gonzalez-Heather, FAP Victim Advocate, Fleet and Family Counseling Services, San Diego, CA

William Johnson, Jr. Victim Advocate, Fleet and Family Support Center, Meridian, MS

Kelsey Fleming, SAPR, USMC, Camp Lejeune, NC


Have any additional questions?

contact us at