2018 NOVA Advocate Awards

Join NOVA in honoring and celebrating victim advocates and expanding the reach of support and service.

Announcing the 2018 NOVA Advocate Awardees!

NOVA is thrilled to honor our 2018 Advocate Awardees. Please join us as we thank and congratulate the exceptional individuals and organizations making a difference in the Victims’ Rights Movement:

Margery Fry Outstanding Victim Service Practitioner AWARD

Riki Karolyi, Victim Advocate, Greene County, OH Prosecutor’s Office Victim/Witness Division 
What inspires you to #BetheVoice for victims’ rights? My inspiration to #BetheVoice comes from winning the trust of a hurting heart, hug of a child, appreciation of the biggest critic, and the respect of intelligent people while helping them navigate a scary and imperfect system.  My hope is to leave the world a bit better, child safer, survivor stronger, and my co-workers in this tough work – grinning.  My reward is knowing someone breathed easier during a tough time because I was there.

Marlene Young Leadership Award

Sara Barber, Executive Director, South Carolina Coalition Against Domestic Violence & Sexual Assault
What inspires you to #BetheVoice for victims’ rights? My touchstone and inspiration for a life in advocacy is rooted in the legacy of a victim of domestic violence and later homicide who I worked with early in my career. Sixteen years on and I think about her every day; her spirit carries forward in me the urgency of the work we do and reminds me of the humility necessary to hear what each individual needs on their path to safety. As advocates, we can, and do, create the space in which healing and prevention can happen so that others do not have to endure what she and her family did.  I work to change our communities’ future relationship with violence so that it is not simply a mirror of the past; her legacy inspires me to accept nothing less.  

Morton Bard Allied Professional Award

Justin Boardman, Retired, West Valley City, Utah Police Department
What inspires you to #BetheVoice for victims’ rights? I was wrong. The huge lessons I discovered in the mistakes I made in interviewing victims while in law enforcement helped create dramatic change. What inspires me most is how the everyday officer has the power to change this field completely, not only to undo the damage we’ve done but become the powerful voice for our victims and survivors.

Tadini Bacigalupi Distinguished Program

Florida Crisis Response Team (FCRT)
What inspires you to #BetheVoice for victims’ rights? Our roots.  Grown by compassion, dedication and respect for those in need. Those before us who taught us the importance of stepping up. They showed us that each action, each word, each outpouring of compassion creates a chain reaction and as each link becomes stronger so does the whole chain.  It is our kindness and love for this work that drives us.

Exceptional Military Victim Advocate

Sargent Major Tamika Wynn, Senior Installation Sexual Assault Response Coordinator

All awardees were selected by the NOVA Board of Directors and will be honored at the NOVA 44th Annual Training Event in Jacksonville, Florida. Thank you to all those who nominated amazing victim assistance professionals in their community. The dedication of those nominated is inspiring to us all. Please join us in honoring all of our fantastic NOVA Advocate Award nominees:

Margery Fry Outstanding Victim Service Practitioner NOMINATIONS

Kizzy Williams
Laura Romans
Tim McGuiness, PH.D

Marlene Young Leadership NOMINATIONS

Megan Mattimoe
Robyn Smith
Maricella Montoya Carter

Morton Bard Allied Professional NOMINATIONS

Daisy Rocha Hodson
John R. Keuffer, III
Lisa Hatfield
Delaine Smith-Clark
Pattie Yost
David Lisak
Honorable Ricardo Rodriguez Jr.
Jackie Corbett

Tadini Bacigalupi Distinguished Program NOMINATIONS

Davis-Monthan AFB Sexual Assault Prevention and Response Program
Advocating Opportunity
Roberta’s House Survivor Advocacy Program
Macon-Bibb DA VWAP
Gwinnett County Victim Witness Program
Pima County Sheriffs Department Compliance Check Program
El Mirage Police Department Victim Assistance Unit

Exceptional Military Victim Advocate NOMINATIONS

Lori Campbell
Edith Davis
Jamie Lynn Blum
Kelly Catron
SSG Jennifer Jackson
Shelita R Wharton

Tracking address: alicia-bjaecg@webc.trynova.org (do not email this address)